茂伊岛旅游指南

您好,欢迎来到美丽的茂伊岛。在当地居民中流传着一种说法,骄傲地宣称"Maui no ka oi" 或 "茂伊是最好的."茂伊岛的昵称为"神奇的岛屿"和"山谷之岛",岛上宁静的小镇与名胜美景共存,充分满足您的观光休闲需要。您在这里可以渡过一个难以忘怀的假期。

您可以在拉海纳镇的港口领略蜂蝶飞舞。这里从前是一个以捕鲸为主的小镇,镇上有各种前卫的艺术画廊,充满异国情调的餐厅,酒吧,岛上最大的港口和独具特色的开放到很晚的商店。无论您是想要一次回归自然的经历,还是一次社会出行,茂伊岛都能满足您的需要。这里丰富多彩的活动如远足,观光,和水上运动等能够令喜爱陆地和海洋的游客们留恋往返。

整个岛屿共727平方米,其广阔的面积留给户外活动探险家们无限想象。与其它岛屿不同,茂伊岛是唯一一个奢华与简约并存的奇迹。在岛的西岸,您能找到为想要稍做享乐的人士设计的世界级休闲胜地。茂伊岛上还设有许多由高尔夫传奇人物如杰克.尼克劳斯(Jack Nicklaus)和 阿诺帕玛(Arnold Palmer)等设计的高尔夫锦标赛专用球场。而与之相反的是,当您开车穿越茂伊岛原始的东海岸时,将有另外一种时光倒流的体验。在这与世隔绝的哈纳岛上,您将领略到独特的风光,瀑布,以及具有历史意义的名胜古迹。

地理条件及气候

茂伊岛是夏威夷州的第二大岛,有将近120,000的常驻人口。茂伊岛的热带性气候舒适怡人,平均气温大约在华氏75到85度之间(摄氏的23.8到29.4度)。四季盛行的信风将降雨云一直带到岛的最北边,从而形成南部海岸的干燥气候。

茂伊岛有时也被称为"山谷之岛",因为在两座火山:茂伊岛西部的普库库伊火山(Puu Kukui)和茂伊岛东部的哈雷卡拉火山(Haleakala,或"太阳之宅")之间有郁郁葱葱的山谷区。茂伊岛的地形多样,兼有内陆低地,高海拔山坡,浅山坡地及高山。

在这个区域3,000英尺(914米)以上,游客们可以发现伴随温度明显降低四周环境更为干燥。由于茂伊岛独特的地形,各种气象特征如云量,降水量,温度和风速等即使在小范围内也会有很大不同。哈雷卡拉火山上本身就存在不同的气候带。

哈雷卡拉火山

哈雷卡拉火山,是茂伊岛东部火山群的最高点,它处在海平面以上10,023英尺(2,055米)的惊人高度。哈雷卡拉火山因其绚丽的日出景象而著名,很多观看过的人都将其视为一次神圣的经历。来茂伊岛游览的旅客必须准备至少一天时间,来充分探索这座世界上最大的休眠火山。

卡阿纳帕利

茂伊岛西部延展出3英里(4.8千米)的海滩称为卡阿纳帕利,是一片以文化历史著称的地区。在这里,游客们可以参观黑石(Puu Kekaa),夏威夷神话中的胜地,即人类死后灵魂离体升入精神王国的地方。卡阿纳帕利南部是捕鲸人愉快生活的小镇,那里有一个露天市场,包括许多电器用品商店和餐馆。您不妨乘坐糖业火车从卡阿纳帕利到拉海纳镇(Lahaina)走一个来回,享受一段独特的旅程。

哈纳公路

沿着这条长55英里(88千米)的华丽公路行驶,您能真正领略到茂伊岛多姿多彩的风光。从桥上经过,穿越茂盛的竹林,被高耸的峭壁环绕,观察果树和绚烂的夏威夷本土花卉,都将成为您在哈纳公路上的独特经历。哈纳镇正如彩虹末端的一点金黄。您可以将一天中剩下的时光用在哈纳镇某个美丽的海滩,或选择在哈纳文化中心,哈纳农场,或在镇上任意名胜间随性游览。

莫洛基尼岛

莫洛基尼岛是茂伊岛沿岸看上去如同新月的一弯小岛。它实际是由一个长期休眠的火山半没入水中形成。莫洛基尼岛因具有种类丰富的水下生物,自然保存的地貌,和座头鲸景观而备受潜水爱好者的青睐。

茂伊海洋中心

如果您对栖居在茂伊及其它夏威夷群岛的水下生物感兴趣的话,茂伊海洋中心将是一个不错的选择。您能在这里一个巨大的750,000加仑的水缸中看到上千条IA(深海鱼类)。孩子们喜欢亲手触摸水面的互动过程,和近距离观赏他们所喜爱生物的兴奋感受,比如乌龟,黄貂鱼和海星。

观鲸

许多游客都没有意识到夏威夷水域在12月到4月间还是上千条座头鲸的栖息地。这些身躯庞大的哺乳动物从阿拉斯加水域迁移到温暖的太平洋,以便交配及繁殖后代。鲸鱼们喜欢相对与世隔绝的位于茂伊岛和拉纳岛(Lanai)之间的奥奥海峡(Auau Channel)。卡阿纳帕利一带是观赏这些重达40吨的庞然大物的最佳地点。

是什么让茂伊岛如此独特?

如果您想要追求多样化的活动内容,想要在一个大城镇中拥有广阔的选择空间,同时又渴望回归自然的宁静安逸,探索各种独具特色的自然风光,茂伊岛将是一个理想之地。早上在茂伊岛绝佳的休闲胜地享受高档按摩服务,随后前往丘陵地带进行一次极负挑战性又令人难忘的远足,在一天即将结束的时候品尝具有夏威夷地方特色的晚餐。茂伊岛适合情侣,观光客,和想要穿越大小岛屿,同时领略繁忙与静谧风情的众多探险家们探索游览。对于许多人来说,茂伊岛就是他们"完美的目的地。"

Maui Travel Guide

Aloha and welcome to the island of Maui, where local pride is confidently displayed by the unofficial motto “Maui no ka oi” or “Maui is the best.” Maui, nicknamed “The Magic Isle” and also “The Valley Isle,” is an island destination where stunning scenery, sleepy towns and upscale resorts coexist to provide something for everyone. Here one can spend an unforgettable vacation.

Find buzzing action in the port of Lahaina, a former whaling town rich with funky art galleries, exotic restaurants, pubs and unique shops that rarely close early. Whether you want a secluded, next-to-nature experience or a social outlet, Maui is sure to gratify those of all tastes. A variety of activities delight ocean and land lovers alike with ample hiking trails, sights to see and watersport options.

The island's 727 square miles leave so much to the outdoor adventurer's imagination. Maui combines luxury with simplicity like no other island. On the west shore, you'll find world-class resorts for those who crave a little pampering. Maui is also home to a dozen championship golf courses designed by golf legends like Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer. In contrast, drive over to Maui's less developed east shore for a step back in time. Here in the isolated town of Hana, you'll find picturesque views, waterfalls and landmarks of historical significance.

Geography and Climate

Maui is the second largest Hawaiian island with a resident population of about 145,000. Maui's tropical climate is quite comfortable, averaging mild temperatures between 75 and 85°F (23.8-29.4°C) at sea level. Prevailing trade winds carry rain clouds to the northern end of the island, creating a drier south shore.

Maui is sometimes also referred to as “The Valley Isle” for the lush valley region that connects its two volcanoes, West Maui (Pu'u Kukui) and East Maui (Haleakala or “House of the Sun”). The topography of Maui is diverse, combining interior lowlands, high-altitude mountain slopes, lower mountain slopes and high mountains.

In the areas above 3,000 feet (914 m), visitors will find drier conditions with noticeably colder temperatures. Because of Maui's irregular topography, weather characteristics such as cloud cover, rainfall, temperature and wind speed can vary greatly even within short distances. Haleakala boasts seven different climate zones on its terrain alone.

Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater, the peak of the East Maui volcano, rises an impressive 10,023 feet (3,055 m) above sea level. Haleakala is known for its stunning sunrise views, an experience deemed by many to be nothing short of divine. It is best to plan at least one day to explore the world's largest dormant volcano.

Kaanapali

The west Maui three-mile (4.8 km) stretch of beach called Kaanapali is an area rich with history and culture. Here visitors can visit Black Rock (Pu'u Keka'a), a sacred location in Hawaiian mythology, where souls of the dead leapt from the human to the spiritual realm. The southern area of Kaanapali is home to the delightful Whalers Village, an open-air marketplace with dozens of eclectic shops and restaurants. Catch the Sugar Cane Train from Kaanapali to Lahaina and back for a unique ride.

Hana Highway

Drive this gorgeous 55-mile (88 km) stretch of roadway to appreciate the true diversity of Maui's landscape. Pass over bridges and along bamboo forests, cruise by towering cliffs and spot fruit trees and brilliant native Hawaiian flowers as you take in the amazing scenery of the Hana Highway on your picturesque trip. The town of Hana is the pot of gold at the end of this rainbow. Spend the rest of your day leisurely at one of Hana's beautiful beaches, the Hana Cultural Center, Hana Ranch, or any combination of this town's many exciting attractions.

Molokini Island

Molokini looks like a crescent-shaped tiny island off of Maui's coast. It is actually a partially submerged volcano that has been inactive for decades. Molokini is well-known among divers for its colorful and diverse underwater inhabitants, its nature preserve status and its humpback whale sightings.

Maui Ocean Center

The Maui Ocean Center is a wonderful place to visit if you're interested in learning about the underwater life forms that dwell around Maui and the other Hawaiian islands.

View thousands of i'a (fish) in a larger-than-life 750,000-gallon tank. Kids love the interactive touch pond and up-close-and-personal views of their favorite creatures, such as turtles, stingrays and starfish.

Whale Watching

Many visitors do not realize that Hawaiian waters are home to thousands of humpback whales during the months of December to April. These colossal mammals migrate to this warm Pacific region from Alaskan waters to mate and give birth. Whales favor the Auau Channel between Maui and Lanai for its relative seclusion. The Kaanapali area is notably the most popular whale watching spot to view these colossal 40-ton creatures.

What makes Maui unique?

The island of Maui is the perfect destination for visitors, who want extreme diversity in their activities, who desire the broad options of a larger town, but appreciate the solitude of a natural retreat, and who take pleasure in exploring unique and variant landscapes. Have a pampering massage at one of Maui's fine resorts in the morning, head out to the highlands for a challenging trek you'll never forget, and end your day with a rewarding dinner of Hawaiian Regional Cuisine. Maui is for romantics, sightseers and adventurers who want the benefits of both big and small islands, bustling and peaceful islands all rolled into one. For many, the island of Maui is “just right.”