1 bathroom Sleeps
Hurray...after three years, construction on the sea wall is complete with new landscaping, new steps to the ocean and beach. It looks beautiful. Also, because of COVID-19 we have updated our cleaning process to include complete sanitation of the condo including all touchable surfaces. This is in compliance with the new CDC regulations.
Aloha and Welcome to Paradise! You are one step away from enjoying a relaxing Hawaiian vacation of a lifetime. Let me know if you are new to Maui, I can help. KAHANA REEF 420 (TOP FLOOR) is a Quiet, Friendly property in Desired C Building at Kahana Reef with DIRECT OCEANFRONT ( closest to the Beach and Ocean ), conveniently located between Lahaina and Kapalua on the West side of Maui. Kahana Reef Unit 420 has it all: - New, Beautifully appointed accommodations - “A” Rating - Right on the oceanfront with 180 degree unobstructed view - Very Private Top Floor - A great location on West Maui - Access to beautiful beach and reef - Walking distance to world famous Napili Bay - 2 Elevators - Free Parking - An affordable price. Our condo is located away from crowds and high rise hotels in a unique private area of peace and tranquility. They also have extremely quiet interiors due to the thick concrete block construction that includes the extended block walls on the lanai for your added privacy. What a difference it makes to stay right on the oceanfront! The surf gently splashing on the seawall, ocean breezes from the trade winds, captivated by the deep blue sea and the islands of Molokai and Lanai. Rainbows abound. Front row seat to every sunset…different and exciting. Don't forget to look down from the lanai and watch for the sea turtles poking their cute heads above the water as they feed against the sea wall inside the reef. When in season whale watching between December and April is really exciting as you watch whales coming through the channel from the privacy of your own top floor balcony. You have many options in Maui, but a vacation right on the oceanfront is like no other. The crashing of the waves with the Hawaiian trade winds is like no other relaxing experience. Kahana Reef 420 is beautifully appointed in a tropical island theme. The décor has been upgraded, setting it apart from the typical Hawaiian condo: - Granite counter tops - ...
Registration Number: GE-068-621-2800-01,+TA-068-321-2800-01,+2430050090086
Mar 09, 2023
We contacted the mgt company the night we arrived re the parking permit and got the answering svc. Mgt texted us the next day, but we called them back with further questions so they def had our contact info available. This is when we also learned that the condo had not been inspected prior to our arrival (this is policy) because there wasn’t time. We didn’t know there was a concern regarding the fridge-see previous review. We were never told a technician would be coming in. We came back to the unit to find a technician in the unit unattended. We contacted both the host and mgt company to relay our disconcerts of this unauthorized entry. The host stated he thought someone was coming in prior to our arrival and mgt stated they didn’t have our contact info. The host was also made aware of the lack of cleanliness; the coffee filter holder with grounds in it, the food in the garbage disposal, the need to clean the sink and disposal myself. The crumbs in the toaster, a broken kitchen drawer, a dirty pillow sham on the floor of the bedroom and the unit wasn’t inspected prior to our arrival. The host apologized and offered a 20% discount if we rented again but when I suggested a 20% refund for our troubles he declined. One phone conversation he stated he wished he was there instead of us. Great balcony views and beach access but the mgt company and host not so much. This review only allows so many characters so unable to provide full details of this experience
Feb 27, 2023
This condo was absolutely perfect. The view is unbeatable. The little beach is great for sitting and watching the sunset. The winds kept the condo cool throughout the day and night. 10/10 would recommend! Stocked with everything we needed for our stay and couldn’t be happier. Sad our next trip will include our kids and we won’t fit in this location.
Feb 18, 2023
Property overall was fine. Great view. It became difficult because of the host. We came back from the beach one day and the refrigerator wasn’t working properly. The ice wasn’t freezing and there was a puddle of water on the top shelf of the fridge. We notified the host and he said that he had just had it serviced 2 weeks ago and proceeded to tell me to make sure the door was closed and said if was still a problem he would get someone out right away. I told him I would check back in later and let him know how it was going. The fridge seemed to sometimes work and sometimes not. It took 2 days to make ice, our food was perspiring in the fridge. I let the host know that we didn’t trust the fridge. Last thing we want is food poisoning. He said thanks for letting him know. We kept our milk and juice in the freezer and that worked. Never froze for 3 days! Sounds like a problem to me. He never sent anyone out, we had to eat out for our last 3 meals. I didn’t want to spend my vacation focused on the fridge so I just let it be. When we arrived home, I contacted the host about the process for reimbursement for our list food and loss of the use of the fridge. (Side note-we were delayed on our arrival because of weather and the host offered to extend our stay by a night. We said we wouldn’t be staying an extra night but would take him up on the offer for a late check out as our flight was in the evening.) Below is the host’s response to my question regarding any reimbursement
The reason I have not responded sooner is that I was waiting for the response from the appliance technician. I just spent $96 to pay for the service provider to tell me that there was nothing wrong with the refrigerator. Possibly you would like to reimburse me for the service provider and for the extended checkout time that was graciously provided to you at no cost.
Let me know.
A couple of things here:
He said if I still had concerns he would send someone out. He didn’t.
He knew we had a several meals in the fridge and took no steps to ease our minds in order to use the fridge.
I would rather have had my food and saved another $300 eating out than have an extra 5 hours at the condo.
The “extra” night had no financial loss to him and has absolutely nothing to do with the fridge
I’m a reasonable person. I would have been ok if he just said that he didn’t find anything wrong with the fridge it didn’t warrant a reimbursement. But this response?
Jan 22, 2023
Broken screen and jealousie window that would not close was noted by cleaning staff prior to our arrival. We pushed a chair up against it to keep screen from falling into condo. The screen on sliding door to lanai does not lock. Appears that a lock was once on it at one time, Dishwasher leaked when I ran it. Curtain rod fixture on one end in bedroom hanging down from ceiling so I was afraid to try to open that window. Air vent grille broken above shower head, revealing very dusty and rusty air duct interior. Surfaces of table, counters and stove were smeared and greasy. Dust and even a used water bottle on floor carpet behind the lamp table next to bed. Bed skirt was torn and not staying put. Dust and wall size pictures lying under the bed. Carpet in bedroom appears in need of shampooing or replacement. These comments are for Gene only and not for posting. I am sure he does not know how we found the condo. Perhaps I should have taken pictures and sent to him. I thought some common items like salt, pepper and sugar should be in the kitchen and a few coffee packs too.
Aside from that, we did love the views from the lanai, and would return if our budget allows again. Would be nice if there was a senior discount so that folks like us on fixed incomes could benefit. Thank you for allowing me to share my experience with you. Aloha Gene!
Apr 15, 2022
Beautiful View! We would give this condo five stars for the view and location, but only three for the condo itself. The pros were the gorgeous view 20 feet from the ocean, sunsets, sea turtles up close, whales in the distance, comfortable bed, nice granite countertops and the whole condo was very clean when we arrived. Previous reviews complained about the door access code panel, but this appears to have been fixed. There were several items in the condo that needed repairs: the ice maker (they did have trays to make our own ice), the toaster lever, the toilet paper holder (kept falling off the wall), the bedroom closet door stuck in the track, some outlets did not work, the markings around the knobs on the stove were worn off and it was hard to tell how hot you were turning the stove, there was no microwave plate on the turntable. There was no dustpan to go with the broom. There were boogie boards in the closet, but they were cracked. The check-in process was confusing and not well explained, however this may be better once the Safe Travels Hawaii program has ended. The wonderful ocean breeze did not get back into the bedroom even with all the windows open, so for us northerners it was sometimes too hot for comfortable sleeping. A pair of binoculars would be a nice amenity for a better look at the whales.
More Amazing Rentals You May Like: