Current time: 12-11-2017, 09:13 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Maui and Lanai
04-10-2010, 11:35 AM
Maui and Lanai
I vacationed on Maui and Lanai in 2009. I miss the green landscapes of Maui and the tranquility of the island of Lanai. It is true there is not much going on Lanai, but it is truly a unique island. I loved the Koele Resort the most and the large grassy areas and pine trees surrounding it. The air is cool and crisp all day long because it is situated at a higher elevation. On the other hand, 20 minutes down the road is the tropical Manele Resort where you can have the typical Hawaiian tropical atmosphere with palm trees and azure ocean views.
Quote this message in a reply
01-02-2011, 07:52 AM (This post was last modified: 01-02-2011 08:02 AM by WonderinginWaikiki.)
RE: Maui and Lanai
I read the title of this thread and thought to myself what I could add to this thread since I am a resident of Hawaii now. I thought back to all the reasons why I moved here and the changes that occured from the time I decided to move here until the time I actually did move here. It's been a very long time dream for me and it only took me 16 years to finally get it done.
I first visit Hawaii back in the early 1990's when the state of Hawaii was very different. It was in it's hayday so to speak.When tourism was going full tilt boogie and the economy was doing very well. But over the last seven years or so,many negative changes have seem to have taken place.
Even though any website about Hawaii always seems to come from the heart and love of Hawaii and the nature of it's residents,some things I just can't look the other way on.
Yes,it's true that many states are going through a rough time with their budgets and the need to save money and cut corners seems to take priority. I have always believed that if a machine is running well,then don't tinker with it,but that is not what's happen here.