Current time: 12-11-2017, 04:38 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Manifesting a move to Waianae
06-24-2012, 06:24 PM
Manifesting a move to Waianae
This will likely be more than you need/want to know, but I appreciate the opportunity to share. I've been visiting the islands since 1998; mostly staying on Oahu at a friends condo in Makaha Valley Plantation (Waianae).

I met my father when I was 35. He lives in Washington State but he was born/raised on Maui and Oahu. It is apparent that I have both Portugese and Hawaiian in me. Now that I've been coming to the islands every other year, I cannot take returning to the Mainland. It hurts too much each time I have to leave. So.....I'm manifesting a move within the next 23 months. If all goes well, it will be a year.

My heart is rooted in Waianae. To most folks on the Mainland...they don't understand it. They're drawn to the Windward side of Oahu or Maui or the Big Island. For me.....it's too late, my heart is taken by the local charm, friendliness of those I meet (everyone is a friend because I believe it to be so), slower pace, and the feeling of being "at home".....well, I just know that's where I'll make my home. Don't know if it's forever, but I do plan on at least the next 5 years. After that, we'll see.

It looks like I'll be renting my friend's condo at MVP so that's set. I'll ship my car since it's paid off. I don't need to bring but a few simple comforts and clothes.