Current time: 07-24-2017, 12:32 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
Canada to hawaii
12-20-2009, 11:52 AM
Canada to hawaii
Message: I am a 59 year young Canadian, ex-naval officer ( 1969, UK trained), now semi-retired. I am originally from Singapore/Malaysia, and have been living in Toronto for almost 30 years. My background is Marine Cargo Claims Surveyor/Adjuster. I am prepared to work in any other field similar/not related to my experience.

I wish to permanently move, work & live to warm Hawaii.

How do I achieve this goal?

Thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-20-2009, 05:57 PM (This post was last modified: 07-08-2013 07:41 AM by kaniamea.)
RE: Canada to hawaii
Hello Jim,

Non US citizens need a valid work visa to work in the US. I am not familiar with the law for Canadian citizens if there are any exceptions for them. But if there are not, then you will need to get an H1-B visa or Investor visa. Recently we published an article about how to get a job in Hawaii for foreign citizens. Here is the official US immigration site where you will find more info http://www.uscis.gov/portal/site/uscis.

Most of the jobs in Hawaii are in government and the tourism industry. Government jobs don't apply for foreign citizens. Tourism jobs are usually in hotels, restaurants and tour companies. These jobs pay little generally. Maybe you could also consult an employment agency, but make sure you have your visa arranged.

I had a Canadian teacher at school and she had to leave Hawaii because her visa had expired and she could not renew it. So that makes me think that Canadians do need visas also, just like any other foreign citizens.

I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions.

Kaniamea
12-21-2009, 11:13 AM
Kaniamea-many thanks for your reply....the info was very good...a good start....( a journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.....)